Relapse: Spencer’s advice

“When I would relapse, I always needed a lot of help getting out of it. It’s like you get into these locked-on states again and need to basically be forced out of them. If I do relapse, or feel like i might, I just try to make sure I’m not alone because I’m less likely to hurt myself. I also make sure I have someone to talk to about my issues. Cutting myself off from the triggers also helps. For example, if I’m online and i see a picture of someone glorifying self harm, i make sure I immediately get off the internet and find a way to occupy my mind and get it off wanting to  hurt myself. You just have to find what gets you out of that mind set the fastest. As far as encouraging words go, I would say that it takes a lot of time. You need to remember that it is an addiction and it’s going to take a very long time to get over it, or even in a state that you can take care of it better. You just have to be patient with yourself and you need to be determined to stop. I still have bad days, but It is easier in most cases for me to control my emotions. You’ll feel better once you get past the first year, which is the hardest part, or even the first few months. It is worth it though, and you’ll be a happier person once you find other ways to cope.”

This entry was posted in Recovery, Self-harm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Relapse: Spencer’s advice

  1. This is a great post with fantastic advice. Thank you very much for sharing. Did you know that in a study of 665 third, sixth, and ninth graders (ages 7-16), 8 percent of them overall reported engaging in Non-Suicidal Self-Injury?

Leave a Reply

