Hope

purplepersuasion

Living with depression is a bit like being trapped inside Pandora’s box. You are in a dark place, surrounded by guilt, shame, anger and despair, by envy of those who are mentally healthy, by self-hatred despite your achievements, by loneliness and isolation despite the presence of loved ones. Encircled by so much misery, it’s no wonder that depressed people lose sight of hope, tucked away in the corner.

When my partner and I saw my psychiatrist a couple of days ago I was convinced there was no hope for me. I no longer believed that hope was just hidden from view at the moment, that I would get it back when I was less depressed. As far as I was concerned, it had gone for good. And so that’s what I told my Consultant: that I could not see any hope going forward. This period of depression had begun with…

View original post 688 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

